Mayor and City Council Home | Departments

Governing Body Contact Information

City Government

The City of Topeka operates under a council-manager form of government, which is prescribed by its charter. Under the council-manager system, Topeka City Council is the legislative body is responsible for establishing city policies and adopting the city budget. They are the leaders and policy makers elected to represent the community and to concentrate on policy issues that are responsive to citizens’ needs. The Topeka City Council is composed of nine members elected by district. Each City Council Member is elected to a four-year term of office, staggered terms. There is no limit on the number of terms that Council Members are allowed to serve.

The Topeka City Mayor is the chief elected officer of the city and responsible for providing leadership and taking issues to the people and marshaling pubic interest in and support for municipal activity. The Mayor is elected at-large by the citizens and serves a four-year term of office. There is no limit on the number of terms that the Mayor is allowed to serve.

Topeka City Council appoints a city manager to achieve the desired goals set by the City Council. The manager oversees day-to-day city operations and executes Council established laws and policies. The city manager advises and makes recommendations to the City Council concerning any conditions or situations that require Council direction or policy determination and prepares the recommended budget for consideration and approval by the City Council. The city manager also ensures the entire community is being served.


6:00 P.M.
First four Tuesdays of each month
City Council Chamber, 214 SE 8th Street, Topeka, KS

© City of Topeka | 785-368-3111