Skip Navigation LinksElections

Skip Navigation LinksCity of Topeka > City Clerk > Elections

Welcome to the City of Topeka Municipal Election page. The following information is provided to guide potential candidates through the election process.


Elected Officials

All City of Topeka elected officials serve four-year terms, including the Mayor. Elections for City Councilmembers are staggered, with five Councilmembers elected at one time and four Councilmembers elected two years later. There is no limit on the number of terms for elected officials. The annual salary for a member of the Council is $20,000 and the annual salary for Office of the Mayor is $40,000.

The Mayor is the chief elected officer of the city, responsible for providing leadership and taking issues to the people and marshalling public interest in and support for municipal activity. For more information on the responsibilities of the Mayor, visit the Mayor’s page or call 785-368-3895.

The City Council has a number of standing committees to review items of business and hear from interested parties. These committees are the Budget Committee, Committee of the Whole, Economic and Community Development Committee, Long Range Planning Committee, Policy and Finance Committee, Public Health and Safety Committee and Transient Guest Tax Committee. All members of the Governing Body serve on the Joint Economic Development Organization (JEDO) Board. For more information on the responsibilities of the City Council, please visit the City Council online or contact Brenda Younger, City Clerk, by email, or call 785-368-3941.


City of Topeka Primary Elections for Council Districts 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, and the Mayor will take place on August 1, 2017, with the top two candidates in each District and Mayor competing in the November 7, 2017 General Election.

Please note: On April 19, 2016, the seat for Council District No. 4 was vacated. On May 17, 2016, the Governing Body appointed a new Council District 4 representative to fill the unexpired term until January 8, 2018. The electors of Council District 4 will elect a representative in the Fall (August and November) 2017 election with the term serving January 2018 – 2020.

Applying For Office

Individuals interested in running for office should submit an application to the City Clerk's office located on the 1st Floor of City Hall, Room 166, 215 SE 7th Street, Topeka, Kansas.

Filing Fees

  • Council District filing fee is $50 (payable to the Shawnee County Election Commission)
  • Office of the Mayor filing fee is $100 (payable to the Shawnee County Election Commission)
  • State of Kansas Registration fee is $35. This fee is required by all candidates in addition to the filing fee (payable to the City of Topeka)

Filing by Petition

Candidate Nomination Petition Guide and Forms

Candidates have the option to file a Nomination Petition in lieu of paying the filing fee.

  • Council District - Petition must be signed by 50 qualified electors of the council district.
  • Mayor - Petition must be signed by 100 qualified electors of the city of Topeka.

Ballot Measures

There are no referendums proposed at this time.

Campaign Disclosures

For information on campaign disclosure requirements including administering, interpreting and enforcing the Campaign Finance Act and laws relating to conflict of interests, financial disclosure and the regulation of lobbying please visit the Kansas Governmental Ethics Commission website or call (785) 296-4219.

Need Assistance or Have Questions?

The City Clerk’s office is happy to assist you. Please contact us via email at: or by phone at (785) 368-3940 or (785)368-3941.


Brenda Younger

City Clerk

215 SE 7th Street, Room 166
Topeka, KS 66603